Barcelona to Play Winners of Africa-Asia Clash


Four-time European champions Barcelona will take on the winners between Esperance and Al-Sadd in the semi-finals of the Club World Cup in Yokohama on December 15, according to a draw on Thursday.

South American champions Santos, the other semi-final seeds, will face the winners between CONCACAF champions Monterrey and the side who survive the only first-round match, in Toyota on December 14.

The first round will pit Oceanian champions Auckland City against the J-League champions, representing hosts Japan, in Toyota on December 8.

The J-League title has been hotly contested by Kashiwa Reysol, Gamba Osaka and Nagoya Grampus, who are locked within three points with three rounds to go before the final day on December 3.

The two quarter-final matches will be held in Toyota on December 11.


First round

December 8

At 1045 GMT in Toyota - Match 1

Oceanian champions Auckland City (NZL) vs the J-League champion club to be decided (JPN)


December 11

At 1030 GMT in Toyota - Match 2

CONCACAF champions Monterrey (MEX) vs the Match 1 winners

At 0700 GMT in Toyota - Match 3

African champions Esperance (TUN) vs Asian champions Al-Sadd (QAT)


December 14

At 1030 GMT in Toyota - Match 5

South American champions Santos (BRA) vs the Match 2 winners

At 1030 GMT in Yokohama - Match 6

European champions Barcelona (ESP) vs the Match 3 winners


December 18

At 1030 GMT in Yokohama

The Match 5 winners vs the Match 6 winners

Comments 0